Self-Introduction

Hello everyone,

I am very excited to meet everyone!

My name is Vince Marx, and I am working on my Ph.D. in Education specializing in Educational Technology. I am currently living in Tokyo teaching English part-time and writing part-time. I have always believed in stepping beyond my comfort zone because that is a sure way to learn and grow.

About 2 years ago, I decided to do something a little unusual. I followed in the footsteps of Juan Mann and did a FREE HUG event in Shinjuku, Tokyo. I liked it so much that I decided to do more events. One thing led to another and I ended up with a series of unique videos.

HUGGING
In March of 2011, after the tsunami, I decided to collect hugs and messages (see this video) and deliver them to the people of Tohoku (see this video). Then later that year, I decided to start a new movement: FREE HUGS for WORLD PEACE. Mainly through Facebook connections, I/we (it was such a team effort and networking phenomenon) managed to get over 50 cities involved from all over the world. It was truly amazing. People sent clips of FREE HUGS from all over the world to my little laptop! Check out the video below.

My goal is to bring the people of the world closer together, whether as a teacher through technology, or through good old-fashioned, face-to-face, smile-to-smile HUGS!

Check out my other videos on YouTube or my website.

WRITING
I have co-authored several books that have been published in Japan for English language learners. One is a very unique book about my take on the origins of the universe. It is a fun poem with cute illustrations, and it targets adult English language learners. Others are general English conversation books or books that help people study for the TOEIC test. I just recently got a new book deal with Forest publishing to write an English conversation text-book.

TEACHING

Before moving to Japan I was teaching special education, English, and math to at-risk students in Seattle, Washington. I have about 10 years experience of teaching at the King County Juvenile Detention Center. I got my Master’s degree through Walden, and my principal certification through City University in Seattle. I moved to Japan to begin a career in writing and, of course, continue teaching. I teach ESL, and I love it :-)

Happy 2013!

Vince

Leave a Reply

